Advanced Ashtanga Yoga Practice and Mysore

Best Yoga Teacher training course in the Indian Yoga School

What is Ashtanga yoga? Asthanga yoga is a type of yoga which focuses on muscle training and develop physical strength and makes your body toned and flexible. Ashtanga yoga is translated into eight limbs, Astha means eight and Anga means limbs.The first is Yama and second is Niyama.

Yama means moral observance, which helps to be in harmony with the universe, with nature, with everyone around to connect. Next is Niyama, Niyama is a moral observance which allows being harmony in your self, how can one be peaceful with one owner. Both Yama and Niyama have five principles each.

Then there's Asana, Asana practice helps to improve your body and will bring a lot of awareness to your body and then we have pranayama, so once you're not aware of your body now you're aware of your breath, using pranayama it is not about the physical expect of breathing it is prank energy, in china they called it chi energy and in India we say prana. It is a life force. Now we will come to Pratyahara, the moment you're aware of your breath you're entirely mindful of your mind, Pratyahara is a withdrawal of your senses, for example, we have a lot of activities in our daily life which tend to abuse ourselves as we over-ear, overdo some physical activities in other way pratyahara is a control to your body organs. What happens after Pratyahara, your mind doesn't go in different directions. Still, your comes in one point that is Dharana that's the next limb, and after' Dharana if you're focusing on a score from every long time, mediation automatically happens that's called dhyana the next limb. And if you're established in dhyana for a very long period. Here comes the final stage -SAMADHI, the last limb of yoga and Asthanga yoga . These all bring health and time to your life, it helps subconscious mind to work correctly at the time in a superconscious way to improve the stress and to deal with the unpredictable problems in life, however, we are busy doing something that may cause harm. Still, we have to do it, but Asthanga yoga will help to reduce the unhealthy ways from the body and brings peace and harmony.


This practice is called 'my soura', named after the wonderful city Mysore located in India.

A traditional method is taught where you're never rushed to go to anyone else's pace; you can just tune in to the inner world breath, the inner world of the posture of your focus and concentration. If your mind is externally forced anywhere, you're really not able to do the meditation work, that's the real essence of the spiritual practice of yoga. While practising yoga, one can modify the postures for any injuries a specific weakness or stiffness that you can get individualized attention.

When you join Mysore style, you're turning into the heart and essence of the spiritual lineage of Ashtanga yoga. Most Mysore style teachers made the journey to India numerous times and therefore are also steeped in the most traditional aspects of the lineage. It's primary importance is that one can concentrate on the spiritual aspect of the practice deep within the most traditional method.

Ashtanga Yoga from Mysore, sometimes called Ashtanga Vinyasa. Yoga students often get confused between the two, questions like which one is better, which one carries the original meaning etc. This blog will be about clearing the air around "Astanga Yoga", I will share my views on Astanga Yoga Mysore here, will save another blog for Patanjali's Astanga Yoga.

About how you were in your childhood. The amount of energy you had for everything, to play, to run around and to jump etc. Think about the sound sleep you used to get at night as a child. Think about how you used to feel amazed about small things around you. Think about the pure joy from within you had while growing up. Believe me, if you practice Ashtanga Yoga you can have the state as mentioned above of mind, health and joy throughout your life. That is the power of Ashtanga Yoga.

The six series are

  • Primary series (Yoga chikitsa )
  • Intermediate series (Nadi Shodhana )
  • Advanced Series A
  • Advanced series B
  • Advanced Series C and
  • Advanced Series D

A student practices a certain number of doable asanas from a series. The teacher would continuously assess the readiness for the next asana in the series and teach it. In this manner, a student learns all the Asanas of a particular sequence and then would carry out a self-practice of this series for many months or years before going back to the teacher to learn the next set.

Let's Start a Studio

Indian Yoga School runs the chain of yoga studios under the brand name Yoga360.